Forgive in love……

Over the years people have done some really hurtful things to me, like wise, I have done some really hurtful things to others.  A lesson that has taken me my whole life to learn is forgiveness.  It is my husband that taught it to me.  You see, he believes that in order for one to forgive with a true heart, one must be in need of forgiveness.  I am such a person.

Sometime ago a man did something to me without knowing my situation.  He put his hands on me and pushed me down to the floor.  I was so hurt.  This man never, not once, asked me to forgive him for his actions.  He felt he had a right to do what he did.  I ask, do we have the right to hurt another person?  I had to accept the fact that he would never ask because he did not feel he was wrong, in fact, he felt I should apologize.  Really?  Well, years have gone by and I am still thinking about it.  I told myself that I forgave him.  If that were true, why am I still contemplating on this matter?  I have not truly forgiven him.

We seek forgiveness, we seek resolve.  We need the other person to allow us to proceed as if the action never occurred.  But, once we get it, what do we do?  Do we continue as we never did wrong to that person?  Do we simply ignore the person for the rest of our lives?  I don’t have the answers.  I only know this, when Christ forgives us, it is as if we had never did what ever in the first place.  Is this what we are to do for others?

When someone hurts you, you have as much a responsibility to forgive them as they do to you.  It can not be with regret or pain or even ill feelings.  You must free that person and yourself from all the anger of the situation.  Now, it’s been said, forgive but don’t forget.  How can I forgive you, I mean, truly forgive you if I don’t forget?  And, this is the big part for me, how can I trust you and prevent you from doing it to me again if I forget?  Again, I don’t have the answers.  I only know that we must………..

Deep love and care

Nitza

5 thoughts on “Forgive in love……

  1. excellent. Forgiveness comes in two folks. Some of us actually want to be forgiven when we wrong and we tell the person. Some people don’t care and go on their life and if we don’t forgive…we are letting them own more of our life. You have such good thoughts. I enjoyed this.

    • Thank you. I agree with you and the worst of it is those that don’t care. It hurts you and them. Sad how many people don’t care to understand how important it is to forgive.

  2. Forgiveness really is not human. We simply cannot do it by ourselves. Only God can give it to us. We then must practice it. God won’t do it for us. He’ll give it to us to do it.

  3. Pingback: Forgive and Forget | Redeem My Soul

Leave a Reply

