House Cleaning & Storage (Housing @ Fort Benning)

 

I work hard to keep my house as clean as I can.  Sometimes this means I have to get down on my hands and knees to really get the corners clean.  🙂

How many of you pull out the refrigerator and/or the stove and clean behind them?   I am one of those that do just that.

Cleaning behind my stove

 

I know a lot of people may not see the need to do this but let me share with you my reasons.  Have you ever cooked and when you moved the food from the pan to the plate, something fell between the stove and the counter?  Well, it happened to me and I hate it.  I pull my stove out once a month and clean the floor, the side of the counters and yes, even the stove sides.  Once I’m done I feel really good.

I also get down on the floor once in a while and clean around those baseboard.  You know the part between the floor and the wall.  Since living here at Fort Benning I find I have to do it more often.  Having the “fake” wood floors I have more dust build up and it requires me to clean those baseboard each week.  I also find I have to dust a lot more now in the house.

I don’t have good organizational skills so I am often stuck with where to put things.  Cluster seems to be a part of my everyday life and I don’t like it.  In fact, I find I am always rearranging things just to see what will work best in what place, for example, my laundry room.  Fort Benning did not build these homes with the women in mind.  I have no space to put things in the laundry room.  Like towels, and sheets after they are washed.  They did not build a linen closet or pantry.  I am often left with the problem of what to do with things.

I often have to put food on one shelf and cleaning products underneath them.

 

There is never enough space to put things on the counters, so I was thinking of putting things above the cabinets but not sure how I would reach them when I need them again.

There is never enough space to put things on the counters, so I was thinking of putting things above the cabinets but not sure how I would reach them when I need them again.  I am not tall and getting things off the top of the cabinets would have to wait until my husband comes home.  😦

Things like my Crock Pot can go up there because I use it so rear.  My juicier would stay on the counter because I use it everyday.  Now the toaster is a problem, I use it very little but sometimes during the day, I like toast and my husband is at work.  I know, silly, right?  But these are things that I have to deal with to make space.  Maybe I’ll find a solution on Pinter.

Any ideas?  I welcome all help.  🙂

 

Leave a Reply

