Catastrophic Thinkinking

Catastrophic thinking patterns……are women more prone to this type of thinking than men?  If so why?

 

My husband and I had a discussion this morning.  He said to me that he use to be very social before he met me.  He said that he stop socializing with people for fear of what I would say or think about his interaction with that person.  I can’t say this was good news for me to hear.  My response to him was to stop talking.  I told him how could I continue knowing that he felt I was the worst thing that ever happen to him.  As you can see, this thinking was catastrophic to our conversation.

Did he say I was the worst thing that ever happen to him?

Did I accept the true of what he said about me?

Was I blaming myself for the actions he is taking?

I’ve apologized to my husband many times for causing this feeling in him.  I also asked him why is it that he has not acknowledged that he created this situation in the first place.

Thoughts?

Leave a Reply

