Head-Covering (Tichels)

I had a discussion with a high school friend last week.  She was puzzled about my new way of dressing.  Here is how things went between us:

Linda: Hi Nitza, its nice to see you after all these years.

Me:  It is good to see you, how have you been?

Linda: I’m fine.  How about you?

Me:  Doing well.  Been going through some changes but all is good.

Linda: Yeah, I can see.

Me: What do you mean?

Linda: Well, look at how you are dressed.  Are you Muslim?

Me: No.  I am converting to Judaism

Linda: What?  Why?  They don’t believe in Jesus

Me: Yep, that is true, I don’t believe in Jesus.  I don’t think I ever have.  I just did what was always expected of me.

Linda: How can you not believe in Jesus?  He died for you.  He has saved you.

Me: Save me?  From what?

Linda: Your sins!

Me: G-d forgives my sins

Linda: Yes, and that is who Jesus is

Me: I don’t believe that.  In fact, I know it is not true.  But, I’m not here to debate with you on this point.

Linda: That’s good, because I don’t want you to try to tell me that he is not real.  I know there are issues with his teaching but he is real.

Me: I understand.  All that matters is we live our life as G-d would have us.

Linda: May I ask, why have you covered your hair?  You have such beautiful hair. Is this what your husband made you do?

Me: Part of my orthodox conversion teaches me to cover.

Linda: Cover what?

Me: Oh sorry, my hair. 

Linda: Why?  They don’t like woman to be seen?

Me: It has nothing to do with that, this is about honoring my husband.  It is so much more than that and I really don’t have time to explain it all to you.  I don’t think you would even understand if I did.

We parted without exchanging numbers or anything.  I could tell she really was upset with me and my new life.  I felt good.  I love covering my hair.  I love that I don’t have to spend all that money on products to make my hair look nice.  I also love that there are stores that sale scarves that really make covering look good.

How do you handle your friends?

Leave a Reply

