Explanations needed here……

Studying is a big part of my life.  I love and enjoy reading the entire Tanach (Bible).  There is no greater joy for me in life.  Over Shabbat I read Yechezel (Ezekiel) 43.  In this chapter, Yexhezel is sharing his conversation and vision that was give him.  

Although my questions will be out of order according to the way it is written I hope you are able to follow.  Most of my question is in regards to the commentary that follows this chapter.  The commentary is very important to me.  It helps me gain a deeper understand of what the passage is really talking about and the lesson it is teaching.  

According to verse 10 when Yechezkel is told to tell Israel about the Temple, he is told that the the people must be ashamed of this sins….and if they are ashamed of all that they have done, then make known to them the form of the Temple and its design….

The commentary explains verses 10 and 11 in the following way: 

  1. There seems to be a line or verse added to the end of verse 11 in the commentary.  It says at the end of the part that speaks about the people being ashamed-at the revivification of the dead. Accordingly, this passage is a guarantee that the revivification of the dead will take place.  
  • I can not find no such verse in the passage.  Neither in the English or the Hebrew. Radak explanation does not follow the passage.  But Metzudos seems to have a better explanation of it.  

How is one to truly understand when there are so many varying opinions on the same topic?  

Leave a Reply

